Showing All of 50 results for "Lawyers, Judges & Criminals"

Brian Brooke Claxton

Brian Brooke Claxton, lawyer, politician (b at Montréal 23 Aug 1898; d at Ottawa 13 June 1960). He attended Lower Canada College and McGill, graduating with an LLB in 1921, the year he began to practise law. During WWI he had served overseas with the 10th Siege Battery.

William Renwick Riddell

William Renwick Riddell, lawyer, judge, historian, publicist (b at Hamilton Twp, Canada W 6 Apr 1852; d at Toronto 18 Feb 1945).

Brian Dickson

Robert George Brian Dickson, chief justice of Canada (b at Yorkton, Sask 25 May 1916; d at Dunrobin, Ont 17 Oct 1998).

William Robertson Warren

William Robertson Warren, lawyer, politician, judge (b at St John's 9 Oct 1879; d there 31 Dec 1927). He became the sixteenth prime minister of Newfoundland, July 1923-Apr 1924, upon the resignation of Richard SQUIRES.

William Smith

William Smith, fourth chief justice of the Province of Quebec (born 18 June 1728 in New York City; died 6 December 1793 in Québec City).

Georges Lemay

Georges Lemay, criminal (born 25 January 1925 in Shawinigan, QC; died December 2006 in Montréal, QC). Lemay was the mastermind behind one of the biggest bank robberies in Canadian history – the Bank of Nova Scotia heist in Montréal in 1961.

L. Yves Fortier

L. Yves Fortier PC, CC, OQ, trial lawyer, arbitrator, corporate director, diplomat (born 11 September 1935 in Québec City, QC).

Michael A. Levine

Michael Allan Levine, lawyer, agent, film and television producer, philanthropist (born April 1943 in Toronto, ON).

Rocky Jones

Burnley Allan (“Rocky”) Jones, lawyer and Black Canadian activist (born 26 August 1941 in Truro, NS; died 29 July 2013, in Halifax, NS).

David Spencer and Christine Lamont Case

In 1989, Canadians David Spencer and Christine Lamont were jailed for the political kidnapping of a Brazilian businessman. From their prison cells they insisted on their innocence. Nine years later, after admitting their guilt, they were transferred to Canadian prisons and paroled.

Antonio Lamer

In 1980 he was appointed a justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, and on 3 July 1990 became Chief Justice of Canada.

Armand La Vergne

Armand La Vergne, lawyer, journalist and politician (b at Arthabaskaville Qc, 21 Feb 1880; d Ottawa 5 Mar 1935).

Augustin-Norbert Morin

Augustin-Norbert Morin, editor, lawyer, judge, politician, Patriote (born 13 October 1803 in Saint-Michel, Lower Canada; died 27 July 1865, Sainte-Adèle-de-Terrebonne, Canada East). Augustin-Norbert Morin studied law before he became one of the most important members of the Patriote movement; he founded La Minerve, drafted the 92 Resolutions, and acted as Louis-Joseph Papineau’s lieutenant in Québec City. After the rebellion, he was one of La Fontaine’s Reformers and on two occasions, first with Francis Hincks and then Allan Napier MacNab, led the government of the Province of Canada. Between 1859 and his death in 1865, he worked on the creation of the 1866 Civil Code of Lower Canada.

Robert Latimer Case

In 1993, Saskatchewan farmer Robert Latimer killed his severely disabled daughter Tracy. His prosecution for murder attracted national and international attention, and raised contentious issues concerning euthanasia.

Elzéar Bédard

Elzéar Bédard, lawyer, judge, politician, mayor, Patriote (born 24 July 1799 in Québec, Lower Canada; died 11 August 1849 in Montréal, Canada East).

Murray Sinclair

​Murray Sinclair or Mizanay (Mizhana) Gheezhik, meaning “The One Who Speaks of Pictures in the Sky” in Ojibwa, lawyer, judge and senator (born in 1951 in Selkirk, MB).

Ovide Mercredi

Ovide William Mercredi, lawyer, Indigenous leader (b at Grand Rapids, Man 1946).

Graydon Nicholas

Graydon Nicholas, lawyer, lecturer, judge, lieutenant-governor of New Brunswick (b at Tobique, NB 1946 ). Of Maliseet descent, Graydon Nicholas made significant strides in the fields of law and public service.

Nicholas George Sibbeston

Nicholas George Sibbeston, lawyer, MLA (b at Fort Simpson, NWT 21 Nov 1943).

Pacifique Plante

Pacifique “Pax” Plante, lawyer and police officer (born 15 July 1907 in Montréal, QC; died 9 August 1976 in Guadalajara, Mexico). Plante became famous for his war on organized crime and corruption in Montreal in the 1940s and 1950s, and is especially known for his contribution to the Caron Inquiry on public morality.

Jean Drapeau

Jean Drapeau, CC, GOQ, lawyer, politician, mayor of Montréal 1954¬–57 and 1960–86 (born 18 February 1916 in Montréal, Québec; died 12 August 1999 in Montréal). Jean Drapeau’s longevity as a politician was such that during his 29 years as mayor of Montréal, seven prime ministers and nine Québec premiers took office. He gave Montréal its largest piece of urban transit infrastructure, the Montréal metro, and two of its greatest moments: a 1967 World Exposition celebrating Canada’s centennial that drew 50 million visitors, and the 1976 Olympic Summer Games. However, he also presided over the decline of Montréal as Canada’s business capital and largest city.

Bertha Wilson

Bertha Wilson, née Wernham, lawyer, judge (b at Kirkcaldy, Scot 18 Sept 1923; d at Ottawa 28 April, 2007), first woman appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada.

Beverley McLachlin

Beverley McLachlin, Chief Justice of Canada 2000–present, lawyer and jurist, (born 7 September 1943 in Pincher Creek, AB).

Bill Davis

In 1962 Premier John Robarts gave the novice the political "hot potato" of the Department of Education, and as minister Davis presided over the most extraordinary period of change since Egerton Ryerson's day. Universities such as Trent and Brock were created.

Nigel Wright

Nigel S. Wright, lawyer, businessman, chief of staff to Prime Minister Stephen Harper 2010–14 (born 18 May 1963, in Hamilton, ON). In 2010, Nigel Wright took a leave of absence from his role as managing director at Onex, a private equity firm, to become chief of staff to the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO). He was a key figure in the Harper government, and a prominent witness at the fraud and bribery trial of Senator Mike Duffy. After resigning as chief of staff in 2014, he returned to Onex.